Non Compete

Employers are using non compete agreements with increasing frequency to protect their confidential information, trade secrets, and customer relationships.

Non compete agreements typically prohibit the employee from accepting employment with a competitor, soliciting the employer's customers, hiring the employer's employees, or otherwise engaging in competitive activities for a period of time after the employment relationship ends.

Most non compete agreements also include strict confidentiality clauses that prohibit the employee from using or disclosing the employer's confidential, trade secrets, or proprietary information.

Non compete agreements may be included as part of a comprehensive employment agreement or as a stand-alone document.  Non compete agreements are also known as "non-compete agreements," "noncompete agreements," "no compete agreements," "non-solicitation agreements," "covenants not to compete," and "restrictive covenants."  Non compete agreements are typically entered into between employers and employees.  They are also common in the context of the sale of a business.

The enforceability of non compete agreements varies greatly from state to state.  In some states, non compete agreements are not enforceable at all.  In other states, non compete agreements are typically enforced by the courts.  In most states, non compete agreements are enforced to some extent, but only if the agreements are reasonable and not overly broad.

If you are considering implementing or enforcing non-compete agreements in your company, you should consult with a non compete lawyer familiar with the laws of the states in which you operate.

If you are a job applicant or employee with questions about a non compete agreement, you should talk to a non compete lawyer in the state in which you work.  If your non compete agreement includes a "choice of law" clause indicating that the laws of a different state will control, you should speak to a non compete lawyer in that state as well.

United States Non Compete Lawyers:

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • District of Columbia
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming


This website is for informational purposes only and does not establish an attorney-client relationship.  Nothing in this website is intended as, or shall be construed as, legal advice.  This website contains a directory of independent non compete lawyers that are not affiliated with the owner of this website.  This website does not endorse or screen the qualifications of any attorneys listed.  You alone are responsible for investigating the qualifications of any attorney that you contact or select from this directory.